Absolute Underground TV

Switch to desktop Register Login

Underground News

Absolute Underground brings you the best in News & Reviews on Punk, Metal, and Hardcore. Our team covers events on art, tattoos, skate culture, horror & the macabre and much more... 

Monday, 05 August 2019 00:00

Twins of Evil - Live Review

Published in Underground News Written by

The Twins of Evil Tour

Marilyn Manson / Rob Zombie

Aug 4th, 2019 - Rogers Arena - Vancouver, BC


The Twins of Evil tour – Hell Never Dies -  tour rolled into the Rogers Arena on Sunday August 4, 2019. 

Kicking things off was shock rocker Marilyn Manson.  The curtain dropped to reveal the pale emperor standing 20 feet above the stage.  Manson was lowered from his riser and belted into Angel with the Scabbed Wings”.  The crowd was treated to fan favorites like Dope Show and Sweet Dreams. 

Somewhere around Antichrist Superstar, Manson got off stage and went to play with the crowd.  It seems that in the melee he at some point got hit head by a fan.  He took a 5 minute break and returned saying “that was the best head I ever got”. 

The show ended with the entire crowd singing along to the Beautiful People.

If you ever want to see a crowd go totally bananas, go to a Rob Zombie show.  These guy really give you everything.  The show was super high-energy with great lights and a well-crafted audiovisual display backdrop.  Out in front you cannot pull your eyes away from Zombie’s nonstop high energy boogie dance moves.

These guys packed in all the hits, including Superbeast, More Human than Human and Dead Girl in the first 30 minutes of the set.

During John 5’s Guitar solo, which includes memorizing flames on the screen behind him, Rob Zombie grabbed a flashlight and headed out for a walk into the crowd.  And we’re not just talking front stage, the guy roamed in and around the general admission area and up and down the stairs of each floor section giving fans photo ops and high 5’s.  Back on stage afterwards he tells the crowd to take one last selfie, hashtag it and “put your fucking phones away and lets have a real party!”  And that’s just what we did.  He dove into Thunder Kiss ’65, and a cover of Blitzkrieg Bop.

Before playing Helter Skelter Rob quips “sometimes I play it with a partner and sometimes I play it alone”.  This year he played it alone.  

Thursday, 20 June 2019 17:02

Punk in Drublic responses from KJ/Chixdiggit!

Published in Underground News Written by

By Ira Hunter

Greetings from Canada, eh! Who are we talking to and what are you most famous of infamous for? 

This is KJ from Chixdiggit. I'm famous for being in the not-famous band Chixdiggit.

What first got you into Punk Rock? 

My big sister went to Europe in 1978 and my punk cousin gave her all her old punk records. My cousin was getting into reggae so she didn't want them anymore. They came home with my sister and they blew my mind when I heard them.

Brief origin of your band?

1990 Wanted to be in a band. Made up a name and corresponding t-shirts and pretended we were a band. Friends pressured us to show them this band we were in. Played first show, got another show, got a booking agent shortly after and signed to Sub Pop in 1995. Signed with Honest Don's/Fat in 1997 and have been there since.

Describe your sound for people who have been living in igloos.

People living in all kinds of homes listen to our music, which is three-to-four chord poppy, distorted, punk-style rock 'n roll.

Copyright Absolute Underground 2011/2012. All rights reserved.

Top Desktop version